jareksteele

August 29, 2012

Bookstore Makeover Post #3: Overwrought Iron

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jarek Steele @ 4:36 pm

If you’ve ever met me, you already know that I err on the side of anxiety most of the time.  It should come as no surprise to you that I’m now sitting, surrounded by intelligent, talented booksellers who are devoted to this store and would undoubtedly pitch in with their two cents, and I can’t pick out a light fixture without peeling away several layers of uncertainty.

Maybe I should explain.

Donna, Mark and the fine folks at Paz and Associates are busily working on the master plan for our bookstore makeover, the details of which will be revealed to us very shortly.  Donna called today to ask one simple question – which light fixture do you like for the area over your stairs?  Perhaps she knows me better than I thought she did, because she initially asked for Kris.  It was only because Kris was making a Kakao Chocolate run (for the store, of course…) that the call got passed to me.  After chatting for a minute or two, Donna emailed me with the spectacular drawing of what the stairs will look like.

The new stairway

Pretty cool, huh?!

And then asked me to make a design decision today: Which light should we use over the stairs?  Umm…

I think this has all gone sideways because I have 4 designs from which to choose.  I’ve narrowed them to two designs:

Option 1

Option 2

Option 2: Simple, elegant. Sort of masculine, like me (sometimes).

I have juggled several gray hairs’ worth of debt today and have slogged through payroll and a portion of budgeting that makes my nervous tic rear its head.  I’ve even read and passed along information about the ABA’s new deal with Kobo to sell e-books and e-readers and have corresponded with other industry people about said change.

Yet, here I sit, stymied by lighting.  Paralyzed by curves in the wrought iron.  Needless to say, when Kris gets back with the chocolate, I’ll be sifting through the bag for my sea salt caramels while she effortlessly makes a decision, after which I will breath a sigh of relief before taking another stab at those numbers.

2 Comments »

  1. YAY the stairs are going to be opened up!!!!!!!!! (Yes, the ridiculous high number of exclamation points is very necessary as it truly represent how excited I am for you that the stairs are going to be opened up).

    Comment by Erica — September 3, 2012 @ 8:59 am | Reply

  2. Definitely # 2–goes better with the stairs, and not so frilly–plus fewer bulbs to change (or not)

    Comment by Patty Carleton — October 1, 2012 @ 5:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

