jareksteele

January 18, 2012

Winter Institute Diary Entry # 1, wherein I confess my love for my profession

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jarek Steele @ 4:09 pm
Tags: , ,

Maybe it’s the allure of hotel coffee and bad box lunches, but I do love this conference.  More than that, I love independent booksellers.  Taken out of context,we are a worrisome group – (mostly) Introverted readers who also run businesses that employ introverted readers and sell books to other introverts.  Definitely not a textbook business plan.  As a group, though, we are thought leaders.  We shape and define the literary conversation.  As Ann Patchett said in her speech this morning, we are capable of creating trends just by willing it to be so.

Ok, I skipped out on the last two educational sessions today.  Give me a break – I have been social and outgoing for a solid 4 1/2 hours.  I need solitary time.  Just me and my keyboard.

But let’s talk about the past 4 1/2 hours here in New Orleans, where 500 of my closest bookselling friends are gathered to talk to each other about this rebellious, resilient industry of ours.

I didn’t think I’d like listening to the President and CEO of Ingram, but I actually sort of did (whilst remembering the very uncomfortable conference call a couple of years ago wherein the credit department of said wholesaler scolded me for paying our bill a few days late each month).  I set down the chip on my shoulder long enough to actually benefit from what he said, and I came away remembering this most of all:

(paraphrased) If selling books is your main focus, you will fail.

My first instinct was to dismiss him.  I didn’t take two planes to The Big Easy to be told that if I focus on selling books, I’ll die.  But he illustrated his point by talking about a company that had been a leader for over 100 years, who invented laptop word processors, and introduced the first PDA to the world – Smith-Corona.  Their mission: To be the best typewriter company in the world” was too single focused, too narrow, and technology upstarts devoured them.

I started thinking about my quest to be the best bookstore in St. Louis.  I realized I was thinking too narrowly about who we are and what we do.  Certainly we must choose a path that is focused with laser-like specificity – do one thing and do it well – but what if the definition of that thing is unchained from its dock?  Does it float out to sea, or does it gain steam and chart a new course?  What if we redefine what it means to be a bookstore?

Image

I definitely don’t have the answer to that.  Most of my professional life is spent balancing two ideas: preserving the  the core identity and traditions of our 42 year old store (and hundreds of years old profession), and pioneering uncharted territory to ensure its future.

For Christmas I learned how to tool leather and made a guitar strap for my son that says, “Be truthful, gentle  and fearless.” (a quote from Gandhi)  It has become my mantra in days of uncertainty.  I have trouble with being fearless, but I do feel good about the armada of other souls who are untethered from their docks, who are choosing to chart similar courses with me.

2 Comments »

  1. Beautiful, Jay.

    Comment by readinghabitat — January 19, 2012 @ 9:54 pm | Reply

  2. I love this post. I love your bookstore. You do way more than sell books. I have attended your trivia nights for charity, authors receptions, workshops, and other events at your stores. I know you foster reading groups and story times. You help bring authors to venues in collaboration with other St Louis institutions. You support numerous local charities and have your own charitable foundation — all focused on improving the lives of people in our community through books and discourse. Your knowledgeable staff of avid readers, and your willingness to bring diverse folks together make you and your store a valuable, amazing treasure in our community. Your (and Kris’) tireless drive to make the written word accessible to all is noble, priceless, and we and our communities are better for knowing you! Even if you develop other pursuits, we have been and will be truly appreciative for what you have done and do.

    Comment by rekim100 — February 5, 2012 @ 5:23 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

